6/21/17

I’d love to say that I remember a lot of this week’s conversations, and I know the moment I hit publish and try to do something else a million words will fill my head with the things that were said.  It always seems to happen that way, doesn’t it?  At 4 AM I know my brain will find it critically important to remember the witty joke that was said or an important part of the conversation regarding the politics of the public school systems.

I can tell you that we had a pretty full table this week, and with a slight break in the rain, the kids were dying to get outside and play.  This week we had the 3 tweenagers, 2-two-year-olds, 1 one-year-old and one baby.  Keeping them from running off or burning the house down were 10 adults.

On the menu was Whole Roasted Chickens, White Rice with Leeks, Peas, Bread and Cucumber and Onions ( This is a dish my parents have made for years, which is essentially thinly sliced cucumbers and onions in a sour cream type sauce).  There was also Bacon Cornbread (the star of the meal as far as I was concerned).  And for dessert, my Mom’s should be famous, Raspberry Cream Cheese Coffee Cake.  I’m not sure I ever mentioned her bakery Fat Gander Baked Goods, but her coffee cakes were always a huge hit, and should you ever taste one you would know why!

It was one of the boy’s turns to say grace tonight, and no “Grace” was not permitted.  After a little coaxing, he kept it short and sweet but did a good job.

No, I don’t think you can just take a bulldozer for a joy ride.  How was Cedar Point?  Can we get that next week instead?

We had lots of conversation about summer reading programs, good and not so good things about different school systems and their programs.

We discussed the different types of pasteurization of milk and how long milk lasts in the various methods (and the fact that obviously some of us had to survive raw milk throughout history)

I’m not sure any of the kids actually ate dinner, merely inhaling enough food to say “done” and race outside to play.

My little girl standing at the slider door pounding on it “HELP ME!!!” (She wanted to big kids to take her outside)

The time I raced a quad across our field and became semi-air born and was rescued by a tree came up, although I am not entirely sure how.  But for some reason, it seemed to be critical information how a 10 (ish) year old girl came to be flying across a hay field at around 60 miles an hour, maybe a 1/8th of a mile before the super deep ditch.  I WAS wearing a helmet, the tree DID save me, and when you only weigh like 75 pounds and have it wide open those machines can really move!  My cousin and I used to have a lot of fun with such adventures.  Almost as much fun as my friend from high school and I had!

And of course, we talked about the Bacon Cornbread!  The best way to accomplish this dish is by frying the bacon in the cast iron you plan to bake it in, letting all the bacon grease just do its thing.  Add some good fresh sweet corn into the batter and you have a winner!

Peek-a-boo with a napkin is always a favorite with my littles, who love their Tuesday family.  And some mild drama when the bigger kids didn’t want to play with the little girls.

I will say it was a pretty early evening, everyone still settling into the summer routine, and tired from the new adventures that school being out brings.

Thanks for dinner.  Don’t forget your milk!  See you next week!  Don’t forget to read, it counts for Mom’s too! The soap dishes are amazing, try this one out! Too bad he isn’t here.  Thanks again, and see you soon.

Leave a comment