Cinnamon and Vanilla Yogurt Pancakes

I made these yummy pancakes for the first time on Friday.  Now, you may recall that Friday’s are very often pancake night at our house because they are easy and everyone eats them.  This is especially true during Lent when my family goes meat-free on Friday.

I wanted a change up from our usual pancake flavor and decided to top them with peaches like I would a waffle.  And thinking about peaches, made me think about cream!  Which I don’t have any of at the moment!  Drat, but I did have vanilla yogurt. How bad could that be?

They were delicious, even my husband commented that they were great and asked what I did differently!

 

Recipe:

2 cups flour

2 tsp salt

3 tsp baking powder

2 Tbsp sugar (or honey if you want it a little sweeter)

1 tsp cinnamon

dash nutmeg

6 Tbsp vegetable shortening

Mix all of these ingredients together until the shortening is very fine and crumbly in the flour.  then add:

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

1/4 cup vanilla yogurt

1/2-1 cup milk

Mix the eggs, vanilla, and yogurt into the flour, add enough milk to make the batter thin enough to pour, or to your consistency liking ( I used about 3/4 cup).

Pour by 1/4 cup measure for a regular sized pancake onto a pre-heated 375′ griddle.  Allow batter to become bubbly before flipping.

 

And if you are looking for an extra special topping:

Mix together in a medium saucepan,

2 tablespoons butter

1 can peaches in heavy syrup

1/4 tsp cinnamon

dash nutmeg (optional)

dash salt (optional)

Allow the syrup to come to a boil, stirring constantly.  Reduce to a simmer until the syrup has thickened slightly.  Allow to cool 5 minutes before topping pancakes.

IMG_5737

 

Leave a comment